Home > Personal > You Say You Want a Resolution

You Say You Want a Resolution

Baby New Year*blows dust off blog*

Well hello there.  It has been a LONG time since I’ve posted anything here – August 31, 2012 to be exact.  That was the last day of the TCM Summer Under the Stars Blogathon that I co-hosted with Jill Blake from Sittin’ On a Backyard Fence.  That was an absolute blast, and we’re looking forward to doing it again in 2013, but when you run a 31-day blogathon, with dozens of contributors and a great contest and nearly 200 entries … you burn out.  I took a little break.

Then, no sooner was the break over, I had the pleasure of launching a new website – Classic Screenings – with the aforementioned Jill Blake and Carley Johnson of The Kitty Packard Pictorial.  If you’ve never done it, launching a website with a three-person staff – even with partners as gifted as Jill and Carley – becomes all-encompassing.  Writing for myself took a backseat.

Oh yeah, and I also write full-time for Filmoria, as well as contribute to LikeTotally80s.com, and Cinema Sentries (see sidebar for links).  Writing for myself went from the backseat to the trunk.

No more.

Effective immediately, and a few days in advance of the traditional New Year start date, I’m committing more time to this site, and I’m shifting the focus from classic films to new releases.  That’s not to say I won’t still review the classics; I will, but because my involvement with Classic Screenings feeds my classic film hunger, I need an outlet for my thoughts on new films, be they current theatrical releases or recent releases offered on DVD.  That’s not to say I won’t review the classics here; I will, but they will become special features that appear with less frequency.

Thanks for riding with me this far.  I hope you’ll stay on board.

Michael

Categories: Personal
  1. December 26, 2012 at 17:28

    Michael, I can empathize with you, as I’ve recently taken on a great deal of writing and reviewing, too! So does my hubby Vinnie Bartilucci, who’s been doing lots of writing about DOCTOR WHO on Comix Mix. We feel your pain, but it’s the GOOD kind of pain, if you know what we mean! 🙂 Whatever you do, writing-wise, we’ll be glad to keep on top of it; your reviews are always worth waiting for! Happy Holidays from all of us here at Team Bartilucci HQ in the New Year and beyond (loved the Baby New Year pic)!

    • December 27, 2012 at 13:48

      Thanks so much, Dorian! I hope and the Team have a great new year (with lots and lots of writing)!

  2. January 2, 2013 at 13:34

    So good to see you back. Now I need to get my ass in gear…

  1. January 1, 2013 at 00:45

Leave a Reply

