Home > List > MY FAVORITE MOVIE POSTERS OF 2011

MY FAVORITE MOVIE POSTERS OF 2011

I’ve had some form of movie poster hanging from the walls of my life for as long as I can remember. Even as I write this, I have two movie poster-inspired tins hanging above my desk – one from the original Ocean’s 11 and the other from the original The Day the Earth Stood Still (which puts me somewhere between “Ring-a-ding-ding” and “Klatu barada nikto,” but that’s my problem, not yours).

Unlike movies, which have the luxury of time to unravel and develop and draw us in so as to make us think or cry or cheer or laugh, movie posters need to grab our attention and get us interested in seconds, lest our short attention spans hurry us along to the next still picture. We’ve all seen movies that have started slow but have gotten better. Posters cannot do that; posters must either grab our lapels or kiss us goodbye.

Read the rest at ManILoveFilms

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

