Home > Personal > REFLECTION AND PROJECTION

REFLECTION AND PROJECTION

New Year’s Eve is an interesting day.

It’s the one day each year when we are most prone to look in two directions: backwards and forwards. We reminisce and we plan. We reflect and we project.

My reflection:

As a writer, when I look back on my 2011, I’m happy with it. First, I joined Twitter in April. The most rewarding part of that decision is that I’ve developed great friendships with other movie buffs, pop-culture junkies, and writers of such subjects (and you know who you are). But that move to Twitter also opened doors for me I never dreamed existed.

Since April, I have had the privilege of writing for two movie websites (US-based ManILoveFilms and UK-based Filmoria ), contributing four guest blogs to other writers’ sites (with a fifth in the can and scheduled for January publication), and launching a now-defunct series of blogs.

That “now-defunct” tag has been gnawing at me of late, so please allow me to pivot from Reflect to Project.

I want to write more in 2012. I will write more in 2012.

In addition to my responsibilities to those sites (and any others that might seek my words), and in addition to any other guest blogs (I hope) I am asked to contribute to, I will contribute to my own blog – my new blog – right here.

It’s not that the old blogs were bad; they were perfectly fine. It’s just – when we look to start something anew, we tend to want to start it with as much newness as possible. Returning to those old blogs wouldn’t have suited that notion very well. Given that tomorrow is the first day of a new week, a new month, and a new year, what better way to start a new promise to writing that with a new blog.

And my plan is that this blog will not only be a home for any original writing I might do, but also act as a central location for references to any other writing I’ve done anywhere else; a true collection of my work.

Thank you for visiting. Thank you for indulging me. I hope you’ll come back.

Michael

  1. December 31, 2011 at 23:56

    Congratulations on your new blog, Michael, and Happy New Year!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

